A player while playing doubles had the following experience that warrants sharing.
While serving, the Server hit her partner. All four player’s were somewhat baffled @ the turn of events &
were unsure as what to do. It was decided to call a let. Did they act properly?
What’s The Call?
Ruling: Their decision to “play a let” was the proverbial answer that most players use when they are not
sure of the rules. The correct ruling in this instance is the service is a fault. If a serve hits the Server’s
partner or anything that they are wearing or carrying (racquet), it must be played as a fault. If it occurred
on the 1st serve, the Server would still have a 2nd serve. If it occurred on the 2nd serve, it would be deemed
a double fault.
This should not be confused with a serve that hits the Receiver or their partner. If this occurs, the point is awarded to the Server as long as the ball hits the opponents “on the fly” before it hits the ground.